How To Use Central Applications Office CAO Programme List

How To Use Central Applications Office CAO Programme List

In the pages that follow, there are over 730 programmes, grouped under 25 career directions. Pages 16 and 17 list career directions in terms of suitability for the four working personality types. If you do not know what you want to study, it might help you to work through the “Self-assessment quiz”

To find a programme Look up the field of study, for example, Sport, in the “Index” and then go directly to the page/s specified. Within each career direction, programmes are grouped according to the level of entry. The three main levels of entry are:

  • Diploma study
  • Degree study
  • Post-Diploma study (for people with an N Dip)

Within each category, the programmes are listed in alphabetical order by programme name.

What the programme list shows you

closing date (if early)

MOST programmes will consider all applications received before 31 October. If your application is received after that date, the programme will only be able to consider you if there are still places available. However, some programmes close much earlier than 31 October, because time is needed to carry out interviews and assessment tests. Most Medical programmes close early for this reason. If your application is late, it may not be possible to consider you. The selection status you are given will show if a programme was already closed when we received your application. The most popular programmes will not consider applications received after the closing date. Make sure that your application form AND fee reach the CAO before the closing date shown. The earlier we get it, the easier it will be for us to sort out any queries in time for your application to be considered.

min points

The numbers printed in red give you the minimum points required for that programme. The first set of points relate to the NSC and the second set are for the Senior Certificate. Meeting the minimum points requirement does not guarantee that you will be offered a place. You can calculate your total points from your latest examination results by adding up the points for each subject as follows:

NSC Points are calculated on six subjects, excluding Life Orientation.
90-100% 80-89% 70-79% 60-69% 50-59% 40-49% 30-39% 0-29%
Level 7 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Points 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Senior Certificate
Symbol A B C D E F
Points HG subjects 8 7 6 5 4 3
Points SG subjects 6 5 4 3 2 1
programme name

The full name of the programme, for example, B Human Movement Science.

programme code

The six-letter programme code, which must be entered on the application form under “What programmes are you applying for?” The first two letters show the name of the institution offering the programme. The third letter shows the campus of study. A summary and explanation of these codes is on page 36. The last three letters show the programme.

For example: ZU-M-BHM

ZU University of Zululand [institution]

M Main Campus [campus]

BHM Human Movement Science [programme]

minimum entry requirements

The examinations and subjects you need to pass to be considered for a particular programme. For a full list of the abbreviations used, refer to Acronyms and abbreviations. The icon means students must have access to a computer and appropriate software.


Grade 12 learners write the new NSC in 2008. Entry requirements for all programmes are given for the new NSC as well as the old Senior Certificate.


Minimum entry requirements for applicants writing NSC are

shaded lilac.


Be careful: If a programme is not listed with a particular institution or campus code, then that programme is not offered at that institution or campus.


Degree study

Your results will indicate if you meet the minimum entry requirements for degree study, which are four subjects from the list below at level 4 (50-59%) and your Home Language at level 3 (40-49%).


Approved subjects for degree study


  • Up to 3 languages
  • Accounting
  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Business Studies
  • Consumer Studies
  • Dramatic Arts
  • Economics
  • Engineering Graphics and Design
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information Technology
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy
  • Music
  • Physical Sciences
  • Religion Studies
  • Visual Arts


This list is referred to in the programme list as the designated list.

Where you see NSC Deg in the programme list, this means that you must meet the above requirements. If the institution wants you to offer more than this, it will be indicated:

Example: NSC Deg with Maths and Phys Sci 5 and Engl and LO 4 and three other subjects from designated list.

This means that in addition to an NSC pass meeting the minimum standard required for entry into a degree programme, you must have passes in Mathematics and Physical Science at level 5 and English Home Language or First Additional Language and Life Orientation at level 4. Your three other subjects must also be from the designated list.

Diploma study


Your results will indicate if you meet the minimum entry requirements for diploma study, which are four subjects including your Home Language at level 3 (40-49%).


Example: NSC with Engl HL 4/FAL 5 and Maths 4 and two 20 credit subjects (not more than one lang) 3.


This means that you must have an NSC pass with English Home Language at level 4 or English First Additional Language at level 5 and Mathematics at level 4. You must have two other subjects at level 3, which cannot include Life Orientation (which is a 10 credit subject) or more than one language.